Clearance Service

The reproduction of pre-existing works (music, packaging, extracts of book or stage plays, buildings, sculptures, paintings, clothes, etc.) or trademarks in a new work (film, article, publicity ad, photograph, magazin/newspaper, set or any other product) requires the consent of their owners or rights holders.

Failure to obtain such consent will constitute an infringement pursuant to the French Intellectual Property Code.

Similarly, the reproduction of personal attributes (i.e. an individual’s name, voice, image) or the disclosure of facts regarding a specified, identified person without such person’s consent, may constitute invasion of privacy or publicity, or defamation.

However, identifying such elements and obtaining the consent required to reproduce same can be a difficult process, as it involves, on the one hand, complex legal rules and on the other hand, the identification of rights holders and negotiation of agreements with the foregoing.

Over the years, Crossen & Borowsky has accompanied its clients to handle such issues and avoid legal risks in the future. However, noticing that clearance issues have become a mandatory step for creative industries (fashion, luxury, publicity, press, videogames, production of theatrical and audiovisual content, etc.), we decided to offer a specific turnkey service, which will allow you to complete your projects :

– within tight deadlines;
– at a competitive price;
– with the competence of expert lawyers

Responsiveness, efficacity and legal security are at the heart of the Clearance Service.

The firm takes you step by step through all stages of the creation of your project (development, production and exploitation) including in:

The analysis of the project (review of scenario, photo-shoot, etc.) in order to identify elements which require clearance. Such analysis can take place at our firm, based on elements provided by you, or directly on location if necessary (on set)

Identification of potential issues relating to regulated products (alcohol, tobacco, medications, etc.)

Development of a cost-efficient strategy, including how to avoid an expensive acquisition of rights

Identification of and negotiation with rights holders

Drafting of legal paperwork (assignment agreements, authorizations, partnerships, etc.) ensuring a trouble-free exploitation of the work

Handling E&O insurance, including the E&O application

Contact us

Do not hesitate to contact us by completing the form below: :

[recaptcha class:df_span-sm-12]

Service « Clearance »

La reproduction d’œuvres préexistantes (musique, packaging, extraits de livres ou de pièces de théâtre, bâtiments, sculptures, tableaux, vêtements, etc.) ou de marques dans une œuvre nouvelle (film, article, campagne publicitaire, photographie, magazine/journal, décor ou tout autre support) nécessite l’autorisation préalable de leur propriétaire ou de leurs ayants droits.

A défaut, cette reproduction constitue une contrefaçon au sens du Code de la propriété intellectuelle.

De la même manière, la reproduction d’éléments patrimoniaux (nom, voix, image d’une personne) ou la divulgation de faits concernant une personne déterminée, sans l’autorisation de cette dernière, est susceptible de constituer une atteinte à l’image, à la vie privée ou un acte de diffamation.

Toutefois, l’identification de ces éléments et l’obtention des autorisations nécessaires à leur reproduction peuvent relever du casse tête. Elles se heurtent d’une part, à la complexité des règles juridiques applicables et d’autre part, à l’identification des titulaires de droit et à la négociation de contrats avec ces derniers.

Depuis plusieurs années, le cabinet Crossen & Borowsky accompagne ses clients pour gérer ces problématiques et leur éviter tout risque juridique futur. Cependant, constatant que les problématiques liées à l’obtention des autorisations d’exploitation sont devenues un enjeu systématique des industries créatives (mode, luxe, publicité, organes de presse, jeux vidéos, production cinématographique/audiovisuelle, etc.), nous avons décidé de créer un service dédié et clé en main, vous permettant de mener à bien vos projets :

– dans des délais rapides ;
– à un prix compétitif ;
– tout en bénéficiant de la compétence d’avocats experts.

Réactivité, efficacité et sécurité sont au cœur du Service « Clearance ».

L’analyse du projet (étude du scénario, des photo shoots etc.) afin d’identifier les éléments dont la clearance préalable est requise. Cette analyse peut s’effectuer au sein de notre cabinet grâce aux éléments que vous nous communiquerez ou directement sur place si nécessaire (sur le lieu du tournage)

L’identification des éventuelles problématiques liées aux produits règlementés (alcool, tabac, médicaments etc.)

L’élaboration d’une stratégie dans un objectif de minimisation des coûts. Le cas échéant, nous déterminerons ainsi comment éviter une acquisition onéreuse des droits

L’identification des titulaires des droits et négociation avec ces derniers

La rédaction de tout document juridique (contrat de cession, autorisation, partenariat, etc.) permettant une exploitation sécurisée de l’œuvre

La gestion de l’assurance E&O et notamment de son formulaire

Nous Contacter

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire suivant :

Please leave this field empty.